2018 Airdrie Football Wrap Up

A look back at the 2018 season, and all of the great accomplishments.

Airdrie Minor Football Novice House League

The 2018 season saw the beginning of our very own Novice age House League (7-9 year olds). With so many young Airdrie kids participating in the Airdrie Football Society Spring Flag Football League. It was just a matter of time until they started asking about playing tackle football in the fall. So Nolan Rohl made the decision to start up our very own House League and give the kids an opportunity to learn to play tackle football in a very controlled and safe environment. The season was a very big success and some of the kids even got the opportunity to jump up to the Atom team towards the end of the Novice season.

Nolan Rohl had this to say about the Novice Season, "We learned a lot of great things from this past season. The kids had a lot of fun and learned a lot of great skills. I am very excited for next year."

The 2019 Novice season will see the League change from Tackle Football to Extreme Flag. Football Canada has implemented a rule change that will not allow players under the age of 9 to participate in tackle football. So the Novice league will make the change to Full Equipment Flag Football. It's got full blocking, stiff arms, and teaches the physical play that the players will require when they go up to the Atom level.

"It's going to be a lot of fun to watch, and even more fun to coach" Nolan Rohl said.

You can check out a video of Extreme Flag football at the following link. https://www.airdriefootball.com/novice

Airdrie Storm Atom Football

Airdrie Storm Football, Tristan Manuel, Rampage, Calgary Atom Football
Tristan Manuel makes an explosive diving tackle vs the Hilltoppers at McMahon Stadium

Amazing, Exciting, and Fun, are the three best words to describe the Atom football teams season.

The Calgary Atom Football league is a full contact 10 vs 10 development league. Coaches are on the field with the players helping call plays in the huddles on offence and defense except if you play for Airdrie.

For Airdrie this season was about changes and challenges. So at the start of the season the coaches challenged the players to be able to go out on the field by themselves and play the game together. The players accepted the challenge and were rewarded with an undefeated season. The Calgary Atom league also witnessed the first ever No Huddle Pass Heavy Offence. I was so proud of these young boys this year, and there dedication and focus was incredible.

At the year end banquet we also handed out awards to some special players that went above and beyond for their team this season.

  • Best Offensive Back - Liam Jay

  • Best Receiver - R.Thompson

  • Best Offensive Lineman - M.Scott

  • Best Linebacker - J.Barker

  • Best Defensive Back - T.Manuel

  • Best Defensive Lineman - K.Anderson

  • Rising Star (Rookie of the Year) - T.Frisch

  • Black and Silver (Team Pride) - PJ Lowe

  • Eye of the Storm (Most Improved Player) - Matias Piza

  • Coaches Award (Leadership & Hardwork) - Q.Soukoreff

Airdrie Storm Peewee Football

History was made as the Airdrie Storm Peewee team continues to improve every season. This year the team finished the regular season with a 6-1 record and than continued their dominant play in the first 2 rounds of the playoffs. There season ended with a loss to the Calgary Wildcats in the Division 1 City Championship. This is the second time an Airdrie Football team has played for a Division 1 City Championship. The first was the Airdrie Raiders Spring League team in 2014 who suffered a loss to the Calgary Mavericks.

With a final record of 8-2 this is the best Airdrie Storm Peewee team that we have ever had. It put up record numbers on offence, and defense. The offence led by Quarterback Ben Klassen, Runningback Matthias Young, and Receiver Haden Simoneau scored 366 points in 10 games. Ben Klassen also passed the ball for over 1000 yards, and set the bar for all future Airdrie Peewee quarterbacks. The Defence not to be outdone also set a new record for least points allowed in a season. They gave up 94 points in 10 games and also held four teams to negative total yards offence. Linebacker Wes Bromley, Defensive Back Jayden Broadhead, and Defensive Lineman Seth Horwood were a huge reason for the defense's success.

It was an incredible season and it will be remembered for a very long time. The award winners for the 2018 Peewee team are.

  • Best Offensive Back - Ben Klassen

  • Best Receiver - Haden Simoneau

  • Best Offensive Lineman - K.Hebert

  • Best Linebacker - W.Bromley

  • Best Defensive Back - J.Broadhead

  • Best Defensive Lineman - Seth Horwood

  • Rising Star (Rookie of the Year) - M.Brown

  • Black and Silver (Team Pride) - Elliott Dalton

  • Eye of the Storm (Most Improved Player) - Hunter Walsh

  • Coaches Award (Leadership & Hardwork) - Kohen Bohnet

The Airdrie Storm Peewee team would also like to congratulate Seth Horwood for winning the 2018 Wayne Smalley Fighting Heart Award.

Wayne Smalley, Seth Horwood, Airdrie Storm Football, Airdrie Minor Football
Seth Horwood 2018 Wayne Smalley Fighting Heart Award Winner

Airdrie Raiders Bantam Football

With a new Head Coach comes a change of Culture and a new team attitude. Douglas Robertshaw had a very successful rookie year and lead the Raiders to a 5-3 record. Their season ended with a loss to the Okotoks Eagles in the Division 2 Semi Finals. This is the best season the Airdrie Bantam team has had in over 20 years. Their offence also scored the third most points in the league this year with 272 total. Robertshaw at the year end banquet thanked his coaching staff, parents and the players for this years accomplishments.

The team also saw 4 of its players selected to the CBFA All-Star team that traveled to Las Vegas, Nevada to play in a tournament. Runningback Parker Nay, Lineman Dominc Atkinson, James Power, and Ryan LaPointe. The trip was the experience of a lifetime and these players will never forget it.

During the Calgary Bantam Football Association year end awards night. Parker Nay was named the CBFA top Runningback for 2018, and Dominic Atkinson won Defensive Lineman of the year.

On November 30th the Airdrie Raiders held their year end Banquet and awards night. There was great food and some good laughs as we celebrated the 2018 season and handed out the team awards.

  • Best Offensive Back - Noah Melanson

  • Most Improved Player - Trinity St.Onge

  • Best Offensive Lineman - Ryan Lapointe

  • Special Teams Award - Tyson Heather

  • Best Defensive Lineman - Dominic Atkinson & Carter Mitschke

  • Best Defensive Back - Kaden Warren

  • Coaches Award - Keliah Horwood

  • Offensive MVP - Adam Mosher

  • Defensive MVP - Cohen Allery

  • Cam Clark Ford Rookie of The Year - Peyton Bohnet

  • Canada West Land Services LTD. Team MVP - Parker Nay

With Airdrie Raiders Spring League Football just around the corner. Head Coach Stephen Kemp spoke to the graduating Bantam players about the importance of playing Spring League football.

All of the Airdrie Minor Football coaches would like to say Thank you to all of the parents and players. Without your trust and support we wouldn't be able to coach this game that we love so much. See everyone in the New Year!!

Off Season Training begins January 5th 2019. https://www.airdriefootball.com/off-season-training

359 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All